Independent Auto (Used Car) Dealerships have been a part of Washington State since before the 1950’s. Consumers that want a good quality vehicle without purchasing a new vehicle from franchise dealerships will come to your location.
Establishing an Independent Auto Dealership in Washington State is very in-depth and labor-intensive process. The Association is here to help prospective dealers with navigating with as little stress as possible. It can be overwhelming, costly and time consuming if done improperly.
The initial step to becoming an independent auto dealer is attending the New Dealer Education class before attempting the Dealer’s Checklist provided below to ensure everything is done correctly. Individuals do not need to have any portion of their business established to take this course.
NEW DEALER EDUCATION
The New Dealer Education class is a required 8-hour course that teaches potential dealers how to build their new company, regulations and requirements in the State of Washington to buy, sell and trade vehicles and how to grow your business once established RCW 46.70.079.
- Overview of types of dealership licenses
- Establishment of Business
- Secretary of State requirements
- Department of Revenue requirements
- IRS.GOV requirements
- Department of Licensing requirements
- Bond/Insurance requirements
- Property zoning and leasing requirements
- Banking requirements
- State and Federal guidelines and rules
- FINCEN (FORM 8300)
- Truth in Lending
- Advertising Do's and Don'ts
- Daily operations and paperwork for dealership sales
- Tribal Sales
- Out-of-State Delivery
- Best Practices
And much more…
At the end of the class, attendees will receive a certificate that is a required step toward having a license issued.
- Washington State requires that individuals who apply for the Motor Vehicle Dealer license must be a resident of Washington State. No out-of-state residency will be approved by Department of Licensing.
- Must be 18 years of age and have no felony criminal history for 5 years
- Attendees of this class will be required to be on the Master Business License, once established.
- If a new UBI or business structure is required for an existing dealership, New Dealer Education will be required.
All registrations for each class is done online through the calendar provided, there are two pages to complete the registration. Each person that attends must be registered for the class. Once the registration is completed, you will receive a copy of the confirmation in your email. Credit cards are only accepted for online registration.
Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, WSIADA will be performing these classes in a virtual meeting environment until the further notice. We have split the class into a two-day course until physical courses are available once again. The health and well-being of our attendees is important to us. Login information is provided for registrations that are completed properly once registrations has closed.
The Association will help prospective dealers in establishing the dealership with the option of meeting with the instructor of the class when preparing to file the required paperwork. Once the dealership has a dealer number issued and is not an active member of the Association, your questions will be sent over to Dealer Services to be answered.